Skip to main content

Governor Issues New Writs Ahead of April’s General Election

Following the decision to bring forward the date of the General Election to Wednesday, 14 April 2021, His Excellency the Governor, Martyn Roper yesterday (Monday, 15 February 2021) issued updated writs to the Returning Officers and Deputy Returning Officers.

“Despite the earlier than expected election this year, I have full confidence that the Returning Officers, Deputy Returning Officers as well as the team at the Elections Office will have all the necessary measures and training in place to hold a free and fair election on Wednesday, 14 April. The Cayman Islands has a long history of upholding international best practices for elections and this year will be no different,” said Mr. Roper. 

Returning Officers are responsible for the organisation and conduct of elections in their respective districts. Writs are the documents the Governor issues to the Returning Officers commanding them to conduct an election in accordance with Section 28 of the Elections Law (2021 Revision).

These writs will be returned to the Governor following the election with the name of the candidate who has been elected to serve in that electoral district.

In accordance with the 2021 General Elections Programme, Nomination Day will be held on Monday, 1 March 2021. The General Elections is to be held in the 19 electoral districts on Wednesday, 14 April 2021.

Writs were initially issued on Wednesday, 9 December for the previous General Election date, which had been set for May.

Editors Notes

The remaining election activities are outlined below.

Action Date
Notice of Nominations Monday, 22 February 2021
Nomination Day Monday, 1 March 2021
Election Day Wednesday, 14 April 2021
Elections returns served on the Governor and return of the writs Monday, 19 April 2021


A list of the 19 Returning Officers and the electoral districts are listed below.

Electoral District Returning Officer
West Bay North Nathania Shakira Sarita Pearson
West Bay West Dale James Ramoon
West Bay South Delano Oliver Solomon
West Bay Central Antoinette Yvette Johnson
George Town South Philip Antoinio Barnes
George Town West Debbie-Ann Lovida Whittaker
George Town East Shirley Lynn Whittaker
George Town Central Tamara Danille Hurlston
George Town North Philip Martin Jackson
Red Bay Ida Jane Ebanks
Prospect Judith Grace Witter
Bodden Town East Lyneth Alynta Monteith
Bodden Town West Haroon Lloyd Pandohie
Savannah Kim Ann Bullings
Newlands Tristaca Lynne Ebanks
East End Melinda Natasha Montemayor
North Side Alice Ann Louise Kirchman
Cayman Brac West and Little Cayman Dave Talbert Tatum
Cayman Brac East Chevala Lawanda Burke