Skip to main content

Strategic Development Collaboration Hosted on Sanitation Protocols for the Tourism Industry

The Cayman Islands Department of Tourism (CIDOT) is pleased to share more information on the strategic development collaboration (focus groups) with tourism partners in late October referenced by Minister for Tourism and Transport, Hon. Kenneth Bryan, in his remarks at the 22 October press briefing.

Ensuring that the tourism industry is prepared to safely welcome visitors back to the islands is a top priority for the Ministry and Department of Tourism. As part of that of that commitment, the Ministry and Department of Tourism hosted a strategic development collaboration with tourism partners on Wednesday, 20 October, with the aim of gathering feedback on sanitation, visitor management and marketing.

“As we get ready to welcome more visitors to our islands, it is important that guests feel confident in our preparedness and ability to manage their experience in this new normal. The information collected from this strategic session with our tourism partners will go a long way in assisting us in considering all the risks and challenges that potentially come with reopening to tourism,” said Minister of Tourism, Hon. Kenneth Bryan.

To maximize the success of the focus group discussions, the Department of Tourism engaged local facilitator Ms. Tara Tvedt and her Cayman-based company SquarePeg Ltd. Each focus group was asked a set of questions on three main areas – Sanitation, Guest (COVID positive) risks and challenges, and activation marketing.  Ms. Tvedt, as a trained facilitator in the method, guided the process helping the group collaborate.

The goal of these focus groups is to have a better understanding of what potential challenges the industry faces in this crucial area of COVID-19 protocols. The members of the focus group represent both the public and private sectors that are involved in the return of tourism in the Cayman Islands. The session was visited by Hon. Deputy Premier and Minister of Finance, Economic Development and Labour, Hon. Chris Saunders, Minister of Tourism and Transport, Hon. Kenneth Bryan and Minister of Planning, Agriculture, Housing and Infrastructure, Hon. Johany Ebanks.

The findings and ongoing sub-committee sessions will support the Ministry and Department of Tourism in finalising reopening standards and protocols that will be presented to Cabinet.