Skip to main content

Walkers 2022 Legal Internship Programme

Walkers is delighted to have hosted ten talented Caymanian legal interns for the annual Legal Internship Programme in its Elgin Avenue headquarters this August. The purpose of this programme is to give law students an insight into what it is really like to work as a trainee lawyer and ultimately as an attorney in a pre-eminent financial services law firm.

The participating interns who joined Walkers for the three week programme were Bianca Meghoo, Elijah Samson, Emili Small, Eva Muspratt, Hannah Welcome, Kasie Bowden, Joanna Cameron, Robert Rutkowski, Valentina Bustos and Valeska Borden-Castillo; each of whom are at various stages of their legal studies having recently completed the LLB, the GDL or their first year of the LLB at various universities, including the Truman Bodden Law School in Cayman.

From 8 August to 26 August, the legal interns worked alongside 21 lawyers and paralegals who mentored and guided them through real-time legal matters. Culminating with an internal project, presented to the partnership, the interns showcased learned essential business critical skills such as negotiation, communication and problem-solving – all vital for work place success.

“We take great pride in designing valuable training programmes for the next generation of Caymanian lawyers. I was delighted to meet such a talented and hardworking cohort of interns walking through our halls this summer and wish them every success in their future studies,” commented David Collins, partner and Chair of the Walkers Trainee Committee.

Each intern was placed in one of the firm’s core practices: Finance & Corporate, Insolvency & Dispute Resolution, Investment Funds, Regulation & Risk Advisory and Private Capital & Trusts. The Walkers Legal Internship Programme is part of the firm’s continuing commitment to the development of young Caymanians and the next generation of Caymanian lawyers.

  • L-R Standing Robert Rutkowski, Valentina Bustos, Kasie Bowden, Elijah Samson, Bianca Meghoo.
  • L-R seated: Emili Small, Hannah Welcome, Joanna Cameron, Valeska Borden-Castillo, Eva Muspratt

Issued by: Walkers